Core Faculty


Algoe, Sara
Associate Professor
324 Davie Hall
(919) 962-2538
algoe@unc.edu

Dr. Algoe studies the roles of emotions in social interactions. Visit her online: Emotions and Social Interactions Laboratory.


Fredrickson, Barbara
Kenan Distinguished Professor
309 Davie Hall
(919) 843-0091
blf@email.unc.edu

Dr. Fredrickson studies emotions, well-being, and positive psychology. Visit her online: Positive Emotions and Psychophysiology Laboratory.


Gray, Kurt
Associate Professor
327 Davie Hall
(919) 843-5426
kurtgray@email.unc.edu

Dr. Gray studies moral psychology and and mind perception. Visit him online: Mind Perception and Morality Lab.


Lindquist, Kristen
Assistant Professor
321 Davie Hall
(919) 843-6260
kristen.lindquist@unc.edu

Dr. Lindquist studies emotions and affective neuroscience. Visit her online: Carolina Affective Science Lab.


Muscatell, Keely
Assistant Professor
328 Davie Hall
(919) 843-9113
kmuscatell@unc.edu

Dr. Muscatell studies how social experiences (e.g., stress, social status, inequality, discrimination, loneliness, social support) influence physical health and emotional well-being, incorporating techniques from social neuroscience and psychoneuroimmunology to identify pathways linking the social environment and health outcomes. Visit her online: Social Neuroscience and Health Lab.


Payne, B. Keith
Professor | Social Psychology Program Director
312 Davie Hall
(919) 962-2055
bkpayne@email.unc.edu

Dr. Payne studies automatic thoughts and feelings, with a focus on stereotyping, prejudice, and social attitudes. Visit him online: Keith Payne, Ph.D.


Sheeran, Paschal
Professor
323 Davie Hall
(919) 962-4872
psheeran@email.unc.edu

Dr. Sheeran studies self-regulation; specifically, how people direct their own thoughts, feelings, and behaviors to achieve goals. Visit him online: Paschal Sheeran, Ph.D.


Emeritus Faculty


Insko, Chester
Retired Faculty
342A Davie Hall
insko@unc.edu


Thompson, Vaida
Professor Emeritus
vaida_thompson@unc.edu