Graduate Students


Avishai-Yitshak, Aya
Advisor: Dr. Paschal Sheeran
322 Davie Hall
avishaiy@live.unc.edu

Aya’s research involves implicit processes, motivation and health behaviors, including exercise, eating, weight gain prevention, and smoking.


Chang, Yen-Ping
Advisor: Dr. Sara Algoe
319 Davie Hall
ypchang@unc.edu

Yen-Ping studies positive emotions, specifically the emotion of gratitude.


Clark, Jenna
Advisor: Dr. Sara Algoe
322 Davie Hall
jennac@email.unc.edu

Jenna studies the outcomes of online social interaction and the impact of evidence-type in persuasive communication on person perception.


Doyle, Cameron
Advisor: Dr. Kristen Lindquist
329 Davie Hall
camdoyle@live.unc.edu

Cameron studies how concept knowledge that is supported by language shapes the visual perception of emotional facial expressions.


Findley, David
Advisor: Dr. Barbara Fredrickson
320 Davie Hall
findleyd@live.unc.edu

David studies how positive emotions affect behaviors as well as long-term physical health outcomes.


Gheorma, Liana
Advisor: Dr. Sara Algoe
322 Davie Hall
liana.gheorma@unc.edu

Liana studies the ways in which positive emotions like gratitude affect aspects of social interactions such as evaluations of others and beliefs about how we are perceived.


Goranson, Amelia Louise
Advisor: Dr. Kurt Gray
311 Davie Hall
agoranso@live.unc.edu

Amelia studies morality, moral behavior, and the ways we frame situations that make people behave more morally.


Hannay, Jason
Advisor: Dr. Keith Payne
320 Davie Hall
hannay@live.unc.edu

Jason studies how implicit attitudes are measured as well as the role implicit attitudes play in voting behavior and political party identification.


Hester, Neil
Advisor: Dr. Kurt Gray
325 Davie Hall
nehester@live.unc.edu

Neil studies how people “jump to conclusions” when making moral judgments, how people use stereotypes to categorize others as either villains or victims, and how these phenomena interact to produce unique patterns of prejudice.


Isgett, Suzannah
Advisor: Dr. Barbara Fredrickson
308 Davie Hall
sisgett@live.unc.edu

Suzannah studies the relationship between positive emotions, genes, and health.


Jackson, Joshua
Advisor: Dr. Kurt Gray
320 Davie Hall
joshcj@live.unc.edu

Joshua studies the emergence of social groups and the evolution of human culture, with a particular focus on religion and morality.


Le Nguyen, Khoa
Advisor: Dr. Barbara Fredrickson
322 Davie Hall
khoaln@live.unc.edu

Khoa studies how positive emotions influence social cognition and pro-social behaviors and behaviors that cultivate positive emotions and increase well-being in online interactions.


Lee, Kent
Advisor: Dr. Keith Payne
307 Davie Hall
kentl@email.unc.edu

Kent studies the role of subjective interpretation in prejudice and emotional experience.


Leshin, Joseph
Advisor: Dr. Kristen Lindquist
320 Davie Hall
leshin@unc.edu

Joseph studies the neural basis of emotion and individual differences in the experience of fear and anxiety.


MacCormack, Jennifer
Advisor: Dr. Kristen Lindquist
325 Davie Hall
jkmaccor@live.unc.edu

Jennifer studies emotional complexity and experience, interception, and representations in the body and brain.


Major, Brett
Advisor: Dr. Barbara Fredrickson
308 Davie Hall
bmajor@live.unc.edu

Brett studies how positive emotions facilitate the cognitive regulation of emotion in response to negative experiences and how these processes impact mental and physical health.


Schein, Chelsea
Advisor: Dr. Kurt Gray
319 Davie Hall
cschein@live.unc.edu

Chelsea studies morality and its intersection with mind perception and religion.


Shablack, Holly
Advisor: Dr. Kristen Lindquist
311 Davie Hall
hshab@live.unc.edu

Holly studies language, emotion experience, and perception.


Vuletich, Heidi
Advisors: Dr. Keith Payne and Dr. Beth Kurtz-Costes
211 | 320 Davie Hall
vulet978@live.unc.edu

Heidi studies implicit and explicit barriers to academic achievement in minority youth.