Core Faculty


Algoe, Sara
Associate Professor
324 Davie Hall
(919) 962-2538
algoe@unc.edu

Dr. Algoe studies the roles of emotions in social interactions. Visit her online: Emotions and Social Interactions Laboratory.

Dr. Algoe is considering graduate applications for the 2019-20 academic year.


Fredrickson, Barbara
Kenan Distinguished Professor
309 Davie Hall
(919) 843-0091
blf@email.unc.edu

Dr. Fredrickson studies emotions, well-being, and positive psychology. Visit her online: Positive Emotions and Psychophysiology Laboratory.

Dr. Fredrickson is considering graduate applications for the 2019-20 academic year.


Gray, Kurt
Associate Professor
327 Davie Hall
(919) 843-5426
kurtgray@email.unc.edu

Dr. Gray studies moral psychology and and mind perception. Visit him online: Mind Perception and Morality Lab.

Dr. Gray is considering graduate applications for the 2019-20 academic year.


Lindquist, Kristen
Associate Professor
321 Davie Hall
(919) 843-6260
kristen.lindquist@unc.edu

Dr. Lindquist studies emotions and affective neuroscience. Visit her online: Carolina Affective Science Lab.

Dr. Lindquist is considering graduate applications for the 2019-20 academic year.


Muscatell, Keely
Assistant Professor
328 Davie Hall
(919) 843-9113
kmuscatell@unc.edu

Dr. Muscatell studies how social experiences (e.g., stress, social status, inequality, discrimination, loneliness, social support) influence physical health and emotional well-being, incorporating techniques from social neuroscience and psychoneuroimmunology to identify pathways linking the social environment and health outcomes. Visit her online: Social Neuroscience and Health Lab.

Dr. Muscatell is considering graduate applications for the 2019-20 academic year.


Payne, B. Keith
Professor | Social Psychology Program Director
312 Davie Hall
(919) 962-2055
bkpayne@email.unc.edu

Dr. Payne studies automatic thoughts and feelings, with a focus on stereotyping, prejudice, and social attitudes. Visit him online: Keith Payne, Ph.D.

Dr. Payne is considering graduate applications for the 2019-20 academic year.


Sheeran, Paschal
Professor
323 Davie Hall
(919) 962-4872
psheeran@email.unc.edu

Dr. Sheeran studies self-regulation; specifically, how people direct their own thoughts, feelings, and behaviors to achieve goals. Visit him online: Paschal Sheeran, Ph.D.

Dr. Sheeran is considering graduate applications for the 2019-20 academic year.


Adjunct Faculty


Adjunct Faculty have official appointments with the Department of Psychology and Neuroscience and assist the Department by collaborating with faculty, mentoring doctoral students, or teaching undergraduates.


Akos, Patrick
Adjunct Professor | School of Education
105 E Peabody Hall
(919) 843-4758
pakos@email.unc.edu


Christian, Michael
Adjunct Assistant Professor | Kenan-Flagler Business School
University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
(919) 962-2983
mike_christian@kenan-flagler.unc.edu


Grewen, Karen
Adjunct Associate Professor | Department of Psychiatry
256 Medical Wing D
(919) 966-2544
karen_grewen@med.unc.edu


Emeritus Faculty


Insko, Chester
Retired Faculty
342A Davie Hall
insko@unc.edu


Thompson, Vaida
Professor Emerita
vaida_thompson@unc.edu