Graduate Students


Alvarez, Gabriella
Advisors: Dr. Keely Muscatell and Dr. Mitch Prinstein
243B Davie Hall | 002 Howell Hall
alvarezg@live.unc.edu

Gabriella utilizes neuroscience and immunology to study how social inequality is represented in the brain and body.


Avishai-Yitshak, Aya
Advisor: Dr. Paschal Sheeran
319 Davie Hall
avishaiy@live.unc.edu

Aya’s research involves implicit processes, motivation and health behaviors, including exercise, eating, weight gain prevention, and smoking.


Chang, Yen-Ping
Advisor: Dr. Sara Algoe
322 Davie Hall
ypchang@unc.edu

Yen-Ping studies positive emotions, specifically the emotion of gratitude.


Doyle, Cameron
Advisor: Dr. Kristen Lindquist
319 Davie Hall
camdoyle@live.unc.edu

Cameron studies how concept knowledge that is supported by language shapes the visual perception of emotional facial expressions.


Goranson, Amelia Louise
Advisor: Dr. Kurt Gray
311 Davie Hall
agoranso@live.unc.edu

Amelia studies morality, moral behavior, and the ways we frame situations that make people behave more morally.


Hannay, Jason
Advisor: Dr. Keith Payne
320 Davie Hall
hannay@live.unc.edu

Jason studies how implicit attitudes are measured as well as the role implicit attitudes play in voting behavior and political party identification.


Hester, Neil
Advisor: Dr. Kurt Gray
124 Howell Hall
nehester@live.unc.edu

Neil studies how key social categories such as race, gender, and age intersect and interact with contextual factors to predict moral judgments. Visit him online: Neil Hester.


Jackson, Joshua
Advisor: Dr. Kurt Gray
325 Davie Hall
joshcj@live.unc.edu

Joshua studies the emergence of social groups and the evolution of human culture, with a particular focus on religion and morality.


Jolink, Tatum
Advisor: Dr. Sara Algoe
320 Davie Hall
tatum.jolink@unc.edu

Tatum studies the development of close romantic relationships from initial attraction to long-term commitment and how relationships function within their broader social network.


Ju, Nahyun
Advisor: Dr. Paschal Sheeran
322 Davie Hall
nahyun@live.unc.edu

Nahyun studies self-control and motivation.


Le Nguyen, Khoa
Advisor: Dr. Barbara Fredrickson
308 Davie Hall
khoaln@live.unc.edu

Khoa studies how positive emotions influence social cognition and pro-social behaviors and behaviors that cultivate positive emotions and increase well-being in online interactions.


Lee, Kent
Advisor: Dr. Keith Payne
307 Davie Hall
kentl@email.unc.edu

Kent studies the role of subjective interpretation in prejudice and emotional experience.


Leshin, Joseph
Advisor: Dr. Kristen Lindquist
325 Davie Hall
leshin@unc.edu

Joseph studies the neural basis of emotion and individual differences in the experience of fear and anxiety.


MacCormack, Jennifer
Advisor: Dr. Kristen Lindquist
124 Howell Hall
jkmaccor@live.unc.edu

Jennifer studies emotional complexity and experience, interception, and representations in the body and brain.


Merritt, Carrington
Advisor: Dr. Keely Muscatell and Dr. David Penn
258 | 320 Davie Hall
carritt@live.unc.edu

Carrington studies how individuals’ social conditions influence neural, physiological, and psychological functioning, and thus contribute to the onset, course, and treatment of severe mental illness.


Shablack, Holly
Advisor: Dr. Kristen Lindquist
311 Davie Hall
hshab@live.unc.edu

Holly studies language, emotion experience, and perception.


Slochower, John
Advisor: Dr. Keith Payne
322 Davie Hall
john.slochower@unc.edu


Vuletich, Heidi
Advisors: Dr. Keith Payne and Dr. Beth Kurtz-Costes
211 Davie Hall
heidiv@unc.edu

Heidi studies implicit and explicit barriers to academic achievement in minority youth.


Zhou, Jieni
Advisor: Dr. Barbara Fredrickson
320 Davie Hall
jieniz@live.unc.edu

Jieni studies how positive experiences in romantic relationships impact people’s emotional and physical well-being.