Skip to main content

Graduate Students


Abrams, Samantha
Advisor: Dr. Kurt Gray
320 Davie Hall
srabrams@email.unc.edu

Samantha studies how religious beliefs influence perceptions of the natural world and moral judgments of science and health technologies.


Alvarez, Gabriella
Advisor: Dr. Keely Muscatell
124 Howell Hall
alvarezg@live.unc.edu

Gabriella utilizes neuroscience and immunology to study how social inequality is represented in the brain and body.


Berman, Catherine (she/her)
Advisor: Dr. Barbara Fredrickson
320 Davie Hall
catherine.j.berman@unc.edu

Catherine studies how shared positive affective processes influence the initiation and maintenance of individual and collective health behaviors, as well as the psychological processes that influence support for policies that address health inequalities.


Bonar, Adrienne
Advisor: Dr. Kristen Lindquist
320 Davie Hall
adrienne.bonar@unc.edu

Adrienne studies how body states and beliefs about the body combine to create emotional experiences.


Brosso, Samantha
Advisor: Dr. Keely Muscatell
124 Howell Hall
brosso@live.unc.edu

Samantha utilizes neuroscience and psychophysiology to study how social inequality impacts social cognition and well-being.


Cardenas, Megan
Advisor: Dr. Keely Muscatell
322 Davie Hall
mcardenas@unc.edu

Megan studies how stressors in the social world (e.g., racial discrimination, economic inequality) impact the brain and body.


Chandler, Kylie
Advisor: Dr. Sara Algoe
124 Howell Hall
kyliec@live.unc.edu

Kylie studies how individuals in close relationships regulate certain behaviors in order to meet their relationship-relevant goals and their motivations behind these goals.


Ernstoff, C. Rachel
Advisor: Dr. Kurt Gray
315 Davie Hall
ernstoff@live.unc.edu

Rachel’s research focuses on intergroup relations and outgroup tolerance, especially in political contexts.


Feldman, Mallory
Advisor: Dr. Kristen Lindquist
124 Howell Hall
mjfeld@live.unc.edu

Mallory uses methods from psychology, physiology, and neuroscience to investigate how social others scaffold basic processes underlying emotional experience.


Frye, Natalie
Advisor: Dr. Kristen Lindquist
322 Davie Hall
nfrye@unc.edu

Natalie uses network neuroscience to investigate how patterns of connectivity in the brain relate to emotion regulation.


Galvan, Manuel
Advisors: Dr. Keely Muscatell and Dr. Keith Payne
124 Howell Hall
mjgalvan@live.unc.edu

Manuel studies how economic inequality influences decision making, prosocial behavior, policy preferences, and beliefs about success and deservingness.


Gaudiello, Eric
Advisor: Dr. Paschal Sheeran
320 Davie Hall
eric.gaudiello@unc.edu


Hannay, Jason
Advisor: Dr. Keith Payne
311 Davie Hall
hannay@live.unc.edu

Jason studies how implicit attitudes are measured as well as the role implicit attitudes play in voting behavior and political party identification.


Jolink, Tatum
Advisor: Dr. Sara Algoe
311 Davie Hall
tatum.jolink@unc.edu

Tatum studies the development of close romantic relationships from initial attraction to long-term commitment and how relationships function within their broader social network.


Leshin, Joseph
Advisor: Dr. Kristen Lindquist
325 Davie Hall
leshin@unc.edu

Joseph studies the neural basis of emotion and individual differences in the experience of fear and anxiety.


Merritt, Carrington
Advisor: Dr. Keely Muscatell and Dr. David Penn
124 Howell Hall
carritt@live.unc.edu

Carrington studies how individuals’ social conditions influence neural, physiological, and psychological functioning, and thus contribute to the onset, course, and treatment of severe mental illness.


O’Fallon, Connor
Advisor: Dr. Kurt Gray
322 Davie Hall
cofallon@live.unc.edu


Starks, Maurryce
Advisor: Dr. Keely Muscatell
322 Davie Hall


Maurryce studies how social factors (e.g., race, socioeconomic status) can affect a person’s brain function by utilizing neuroimaging techniques.


West, Taylor
Advisor: Dr. Barbara Fredrickson
331 Davie Hall
taywest@live.unc.edu

Taylor studies how positive emotions and contemplative practices contribute to health and well-being.


Wilbanks, Danica
Advisor: Dr. Kurt Gray
322 Davie Hall
danicaw@email.unc.edu

Danica studies how social networks influence polarization and how group beliefs change over time.


Zhou, Jieni
Advisor: Dr. Barbara Fredrickson
319 Davie Hall
jieniz@live.unc.edu

Jieni studies how positive experiences in romantic relationships impact people’s emotional and physical well-being.