Skip to main content

Graduate Students


Abrams, Samantha
Advisor: Dr. Kurt Gray
320 Davie Hall
srabrams@email.unc.edu

Samantha studies how religious beliefs influence perceptions of the natural world and moral judgments of science and health technologies.


Alvarez, Gabriella
Advisor: Dr. Keely Muscatell
124 Howell Hall
alvarezg@live.unc.edu

Gabriella utilizes neuroscience and immunology to study how social inequality is represented in the brain and body.


Avishai-Yitshak, Aya
Advisor: Dr. Paschal Sheeran
319 Davie Hall
avishaiy@live.unc.edu

Aya’s research involves implicit processes, motivation and health behaviors, including exercise, eating, weight gain prevention, and smoking.


Berman, Catherine
Advisor: Dr. Barbara Fredrickson
320 Davie Hall
cjb70@live.unc.edu


Bonar, Adrienne
Advisor: Dr. Kristen Lindquist
320 Davie Hall
adrienne.bonar@unc.edu

Adrienne studies how body states and beliefs about the body combine to create emotional experiences.


Brosso, Samantha
Advisor: Dr. Keely Muscatell
322 Davie Hall
brosso@live.unc.edu

Samantha utilizes neuroscience and psychophysiology to study how social inequality impacts social cognition and well-being.


Chandler, Kylie
Advisor: Dr. Sara Algoe
124 Howell Hall
kyliec@live.unc.edu

Kylie studies how individuals in close relationships regulate certain behaviors in order to meet their relationship-relevant goals and their motivations behind these goals.


Ernstoff, C. Rachel
Advisor: Dr. Kurt Gray
322 Davie Hall
ernstoff@live.unc.edu

Rachel’s research focuses on intergroup relations and outgroup tolerance, especially in political contexts.


Feldman, Mallory
Advisor: Dr. Kristen Lindquist
124 Howell Hall
mjfeld@live.unc.edu

Mallory uses methods from psychology, physiology, and neuroscience to investigate how social others scaffold basic processes underlying emotional experience.


Galvan, Manuel
Advisors: Dr. Keely Muscatell and Dr. Keith Payne
124 Howell Hall
mjgalvan@live.unc.edu

Manuel studies how economic inequality influences decision making, prosocial behavior, policy preferences, and beliefs about success and deservingness.


Gaudiello, Eric
Advisor: Dr. Paschal Sheeran
320 Davie Hall
eric.gaudiello@unc.edu


Hannay, Jason
Advisor: Dr. Keith Payne
311 Davie Hall
hannay@live.unc.edu

Jason studies how implicit attitudes are measured as well as the role implicit attitudes play in voting behavior and political party identification.


Jackson, Joshua
Advisor: Dr. Kurt Gray
325 Davie Hall
joshcj@live.unc.edu

Joshua studies the emergence of social groups and the evolution of human culture, with a particular focus on religion and morality.


Jolink, Tatum
Advisor: Dr. Sara Algoe
311 Davie Hall
tatum.jolink@unc.edu

Tatum studies the development of close romantic relationships from initial attraction to long-term commitment and how relationships function within their broader social network.


Le Nguyen, Khoa
Advisor: Dr. Barbara Fredrickson
khoaln@live.unc.edu


Khoa studies how positive emotions influence social cognition and pro-social behaviors and behaviors that cultivate positive emotions and increase well-being in online interactions.


Leshin, Joseph
Advisor: Dr. Kristen Lindquist
325 Davie Hall
leshin@unc.edu

Joseph studies the neural basis of emotion and individual differences in the experience of fear and anxiety.


Merritt, Carrington
Advisor: Dr. Keely Muscatell and Dr. David Penn
124 Howell Hall
carritt@live.unc.edu

Carrington studies how individuals’ social conditions influence neural, physiological, and psychological functioning, and thus contribute to the onset, course, and treatment of severe mental illness.


O’Fallon, Connor
Advisor: Dr. Kurt Gray
322 Davie Hall
cofallon@live.unc.edu


West, Taylor
Advisor: Dr. Barbara Fredrickson
331 Davie Hall
taywest@live.unc.edu

Taylor studies how positive emotions and contemplative practices contribute to health and well-being.


Zhou, Jieni
Advisor: Dr. Barbara Fredrickson
319 Davie Hall
jieniz@live.unc.edu

Jieni studies how positive experiences in romantic relationships impact people’s emotional and physical well-being.